University of Minnesota Driven to Discover
U of MNUniversity of Minnesota
Center for Transportation Studies

Programs & Labs

ITS Sensor Header

Summer 2012

Students, staff attend TRB

Faculty, students, and researchers from the University of Minnesota presented current and recently completed ITS-related research at the Transportation Research Board 91st Annual Meeting, held in Washington, D.C., in January.

Brian Davis

Each year, the ITS Institute awards travel grants to graduate and undergraduate students. The Institute also selects one graduate student for the Outstanding Student of the Year Award, which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA). At a ceremony held in conjunction with the TRB meeting, USDOT officials presented a certificate to this year’s recipient: Brian Davis. Davis is a master’s degree candidate in mechanical engineering (ME), advised by Institute director Max Donath. His thesis research—Aggregating VMT Within Predefined Geographic Zones Using a Cellular Network—is part of an ITS Institute-sponsored project investigating a system to charge drivers by miles rather than fuel use. Davis also served as a teaching assistant for an ME robotics class for three years.

Other students attending the TRB meeting were Carlos Carrion, Indrajit Chatterjee, Qian Chen, Xuan Di, Kyle Hoegh, Heng Hu, Umair Ibrahim, Saif Jabbari, Panagiotis Stanitsas, Jie Sun, Hui Xiong, and Jianfeng Zheng. Faculty and researchers presenting ITS-related research this year included:

  • Department of Civil Engineering: Gary Davis, John Hourdos, Chen-Fu Liao, Henry Liu
  • Department of Civil Engineering, U of M Duluth (UMD): Eil Kwon
  • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UMD: M. Imran Hayee
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering (HumanFIRST Program): Janet Creaser, Christopher Edwards
  • Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs: Xinyu (Jason) Cao, Frank Douma, Yingling Fan, Greg Lindsey, Lee Munnich

View a complete list of University of Minnesota presenters